The Pacific Sub-Region

You are here

CRS in The Pacific Sub-Region

The Pacific Islands region or Oceania is a 7,500-mile stretch of islands, including Papua New Guinea, the Solomon Islands, Guam, Vanuatu and Samoa. People living here regularly combat the effects of natural disasters, as well as the effects of HIV and AIDS discrimination. 

CRS works with Caritas Oceania to tackle the key issue of rising seawater. CRS also provides support for emergencies. Cyclone Pam, a category 5 storm, devastated Vanuatu in March 2015. CRS provided 2,000 emergency tarpaulins for shelter and support to Caritas Oceania.  

CRS and Caritas Oceania programming also focuses on incorporating peacebuilding activities into all relief and development services as a means of providing both immediate and long-term solutions to this region's needs.


Population: Papua New Guinea: 6,909,701

Solomon Islands: 647,581

Guam: 167,358

Vanuatu: 282,814

Samoa: 200,108


Papua New Guinea: 462,840 sq km; slightly larger than California

Solomon Islands: 28,896 sq km; slightly smaller than Maryland 

Guam: 544 sq km; three times the size of Washington, DC

Vanuatu: 12,189 sq km; slightly larger than Connecticut

Samoa: 2,831 sq km; slightly smaller than Rhode Island

CRS' History in The Pacific Sub-Region

CRS provides aid during emergencies in this region, which is known for flooding, tsunamis and earthquakes. 

CRS has responded to emergencies in the Pacific since the 1960s. Today CRS supports Caritas Oceania in their operations and activities aimed at improving the Caritas country offices in that region.

Much of the work in this region tackles the ongoing issue of rising sea water and increased storm activity due to climate change.